I agree that
should be the case, the law is written:
"A player in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched* by a team-mate is only penalised on becoming involved in active play by:
- interfering with play by playing or touching a ball passed or touched by a team-mate or
- interfering with an opponent by:
- preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent’s line of vision or
- challenging an opponent for the ball or
- clearly attempting to play a ball which is close when this action impacts on an opponent or
- making an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball"
He didn't interfere by playing or touching a ball passed or touched by a team-mate
He didn't prevent an opponent from playing the ball or clearly obstructing the line of vision
He didn't challenge for the ball
He didn't attempt to play the ball when this action impacts on an opponent
He didn't make any obvious action whatsoever.
I agree that this
should be offside, but under the rules as they are written it isn't.
I'd suggest the rule has become so complicated over time and now needs to cover a multitude of possibilities, but that this case has been unintentionally missed (I dare say there are many others too). Any defender will tell you that being the intended target of a pass makes you "involved in active play", but the rules as they are written state otherwise.